You are here

DSP 4000 Memory / Internal Ram Issue 0x6D6F6422

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sandemans
Joined: Dec 26 2017
Posts: 4

DSP 4000 Memory / Internal Ram Issue 0x6D6F6422

December 27, 2017 - 09:02 am

Hello,

 

I thank any help I can get concerning an issue we are having with our DSP 4000.

From what I was told a new chip had to be installed a few years back.

After having done so, It has become nolonger possible to go further than the following error messages :

 

- Program Counter : 0x6D6F6422

- Status Register : 0010000000000000

- Problem in Memory Card bad battery

- Problem internal Ram not formatted.

 

--- Followed by a request to reboot the Unit.

 

Any help is welcome.

Good end of year to all.

 

 

 

 

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4227

The message tells you two

December 26, 2017 - 05:01 pm

The message tells you two things:

1) You have a memory card with a bad battery. Please remove this card until the other issue is resolved. Once the DSP4000 is working properly, you can change the card battery and try again.

2) There is a problem with the internal ram. This is probably caused by its battery having run down, but you can get going by holding down the "8" key at power up and answering "yes" when asked "do you want to..."

If you get the same error message again after power cycling, you will have to replace the nvram chip - contact support@eventide.com for more info.

 

 

 

Sandemans
Joined: Dec 26 2017
Posts: 4

Thank you for the info,

December 28, 2017 - 08:06 am

Thank you for the info,

I have removed the memory card ( that error message has left ).

Now upon rebooting the unit with the 8 key held down I am left with the same Program Counter and Status Register numbers.

' I sense that the internal Ram is new, do you wish to format ' which results to an error message saying it cannot reformat the Internal Ram.

 

Is changing the chip the next step ?

 

Thank you very much.

 

 

 

Attachment
nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4227

I think that changing the

December 28, 2017 - 08:17 am

I think that changing the nvram chip would be the next step. You can try and find one yourself, or support@eventide.com

 

 

Sandemans
Joined: Dec 26 2017
Posts: 4

Located the Chip and found

December 28, 2017 - 09:29 am

Located the Chip and found that it had already been replaced and installed poorly.

Now however all the factory presets are deleted. Is that something we will find on the memory card or do we need to install new Roms ?

 

Thank you

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4227

The factory presets are in

December 28, 2017 - 10:42 am

The factory presets are in the higher numbered roms. Try wiggling these in their sockets to clean the contacts - it's unlikely that they are all bad.

Sandemans
Joined: Dec 26 2017
Posts: 4

Hi,

January 02, 2018 - 05:28 am

Hi,

I have tried wiggling them, however the empty program message is still present.

Rom, 3,4 and 6 are labelled as Preset Eproms.

 

Can the factory presets be found in the memory card ? ( waiting for a new battery )

Thank you.

 

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4227

Your memory card is probably

January 02, 2018 - 10:41 am

Your memory card is probably corrupted, so there is unlikely to be anything on it to help you.

Check the User Manual to see if there are any settings that might hide the Factory Presets - seems unlikely that they are all not there.