You are here

Eclipse 3.00 update issue

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17

Eclipse 3.00 update issue

gerax
February 08, 2021 - 03:19 pm

Hi,

trying to update the OS on my v 3.00 Eclipse via CF card to get to v4.00

I have a 1 Gb Sandisk card which I formatted FAT on a MacBook Pro, and downloaded the update file to 3.51 first, unzipped and copied it as described in the support page, but the process gets stuck right at startup reading "Loading Romprog.EXE from card".

Should I try something else before upldating the bootloader (which BTW reads 1.21)?

Thanx

 

L.

AttachmentSize
Image icon IMG_3701.jpg365.33 KB
gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17
gerax
February 09, 2021 - 12:32 pm

Anybody?

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4704
nickrose
February 09, 2021 - 09:25 pm

We recommend that you pick an unused card of a good brand and DO NOT FORMAT IT. For earlier versions, it MUST be below 2MB; 64-512MB is best.

See earlier posts for more information.

See other information on the Web Site concerning the bootloader. DO NOT update it unless these instructions say you should.

 

gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17
gerax
February 10, 2021 - 03:31 am

nickrose wrote:

We recommend that you pick an unused card of a good brand and DO NOT FORMAT IT. For earlier versions, it MUST be below 2MB; 64-512MB is best.

See earlier posts for more information.

See other information on the Web Site concerning the bootloader. DO NOT update it unless these instructions say you should.

 

 

I guess you meant below 2Gb, right? In fact the one I'm using is an 1Gb Sandisk (which is the recommended brand on your site).

So you think the card size is the issue? I can possibily get a new 128 or 512 Mb and try again...

Also, about the bootloader, I downloaded the latest version from the Download section, and the filename reads "eclipseboot121mac" which I guess is the same version as the one I have on my Eclipse (v 1.21), is that correct? In that case my bootloader is the latest and cannot be updated, is this right?

Thanx

L.

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4704
nickrose
February 10, 2021 - 08:18 am

Oops, yes I meant 2G.

Key phrases from my reply are "below 2G" and "do not format."

Further, DO NOT update the bootloader unless you have a very good reason. If anything goes wrong, your unit will be "bricked."

Read the section under "Eclipse Upgrade Problem Resolution" on How to Update Eventide Rackmount Audio Units | Eventide (eventideaudio.com)

 

gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17
gerax
February 10, 2021 - 09:53 am

Would you suggest trying the serial connection from a PC route instead? 

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4704
nickrose
February 11, 2021 - 07:46 am

gerax wrote:

Would you suggest trying the serial connection from a PC route instead? 

Certainly worth trying, although it can be a bit of a fiddle. Note that cheap laptops may have weedy serial ports, so stop if it seems unreliable.

 

gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17
gerax
February 11, 2021 - 08:16 am

The PC laptop I have doesn't have a serial port so I'll have to use an USB to serial adapter. Any reported issues with one of those?

Thanx

L.

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4704
nickrose
February 11, 2021 - 09:36 am

gerax wrote:

The PC laptop I have doesn't have a serial port so I'll have to use an USB to serial adapter. Any reported issues with one of those?

Some are good, some are bad. Avoid "no-name" units.

I have had success with those using the "Prolific" or FTDI chips.

 

gerax
Joined: Nov 21 2015
Posts: 17
gerax
February 11, 2021 - 09:48 am
nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4704
nickrose
February 12, 2021 - 09:43 am

Looks believable, and Sabrent is a real brand, But note that we can't guarantee it.

 

pdxken
Joined: Mar 11 2019
Posts: 2
pdxken
April 12, 2021 - 11:42 pm

I had the exact same problem. What fixed it was:

1. Format the CF card using the eclipse, not the mac.

2. Make sure the CF card is the right capacity, these days the cards are all too big so I had to find a 256MB card and that worked like a charm.