You are here

H3000 Output Level Problem

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
rudejude
Joined: Oct 15 2016
Posts: 2

H3000 Output Level Problem

rudejude
October 15, 2016 - 12:48 pm

Hello everyone!

I have an amazing eventide H3000 B (with D and S/E expansions) and I have a problem with the output level. Basically, when the machine is in bypass mode (or off), everything is fine. When I switch the bypass function, I have almost no sound, even if I turn all the knobs of my soundcard and speakers to the max, i barely hear the track and it has no FX from the eventide on it. I tried several preset of the eventide, same result each time. 

 

About the eventide input meter, when it's in bypass, I only see the right one moving to a decent level (touching the orange led), nothing on the left one. Once I switch the bypass off, nothing on both meters. I tried to change the input and output levels using the "Levels" button, doesn't change a thing... 

 

My guess is, something is wrong with the cable I used to plug the in and out of the eventide into my patchbay. If anyone has an idea or could show me exactly wich cable to use? 

 

Thank you all for your help!

 

Cheers

Jude

Tags: 
nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4640
nickrose
October 17, 2016 - 02:57 pm

We can't help you here as the H3000 is so old that nobody here knows anything about it. We can't even repair them anymore, because the one man who knew anything about them has retired to Florida.

( Anyone who needs a repair should look at https://www.eventideaudio.com/support/repairs )

The above said, hopefully another H3000 user can help you.

skyler
Joined: May 5 2018
Posts: 1
skyler
May 05, 2018 - 07:37 pm

Hey rudejude,

Did you ever figure this out?  I'm having the exact same problem.

 

rudejude wrote:

Hello everyone!

I have an amazing eventide H3000 B (with D and S/E expansions) and I have a problem with the output level. Basically, when the machine is in bypass mode (or off), everything is fine. When I switch the bypass function, I have almost no sound, even if I turn all the knobs of my soundcard and speakers to the max, i barely hear the track and it has no FX from the eventide on it. I tried several preset of the eventide, same result each time. 

 

About the eventide input meter, when it's in bypass, I only see the right one moving to a decent level (touching the orange led), nothing on the left one. Once I switch the bypass off, nothing on both meters. I tried to change the input and output levels using the "Levels" button, doesn't change a thing... 

 

My guess is, something is wrong with the cable I used to plug the in and out of the eventide into my patchbay. If anyone has an idea or could show me exactly wich cable to use? 

 

Thank you all for your help!

 

Cheers

Jude

rudejude
Joined: Oct 15 2016
Posts: 2
rudejude
May 06, 2018 - 06:46 am

Yes, It's working now, I don't remember exactly how I fixed it but try a couple of factory reset, make sure you're using balanced cables and something that helped me a few months ago (I don't know why) was to open it, unplug the power cable inside, plug it back it and it worked...

Good Luck!

skywriter's picture
skywriter
Joined: Jul 12 2011
Posts: 124
skywriter
July 08, 2018 - 10:38 pm

Definitely reseat cables inside H3000’s before trying anything else. Most haven’t been touched in decades :-)

Wwwwww
Joined: Jul 18 2018
Posts: 3
Wwwwww
July 18, 2018 - 07:12 pm

After checking all the ribbon cables inside I would be sure you have properly wired XLR cables. The h3000 is reverse phase from what is now the commonly accepted xlr standard. If you have the h3000 interacting with other gear this is important. Unbalanced sources - which should not be plugged directly into a h3000 in the first place - don’t send anything on the negative channel.