You are here

H9000 with two Dante cards

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
cyborgssc
Joined: Mar 2 2019
Posts: 23

H9000 with two Dante cards

cyborgssc
July 29, 2020 - 05:06 pm

Hello - is it possible to have more than one Dante card in a single H9000? I already have one Dante card and a MADI card, but the 3rd slot is empty.

Eventide Staff
jbamberg
Joined: Aug 22 2011
Posts: 204
jbamberg
July 30, 2020 - 11:30 am

cyborgssc wrote:

Hello - is it possible to have more than one Dante card in a single H9000? I already have one Dante card and a MADI card, but the 3rd slot is empty.

This should work fine.  The cards will appear as two separate 32 channel Dante devices on your network.  As you probably know, the Dante ports in the back are in pairs and each pair is connected to an internal network switch, so you can daisy chain the two cards (you don't need to run two ethernet cables back to your main switch).  How is your studio's clocking set up?  The most common configuration in a pure Dante setup would be to let Dante take care of the clocking and set the H9000 clock source to follow one of the two cards.

 

cyborgssc
Joined: Mar 2 2019
Posts: 23
cyborgssc
July 31, 2020 - 07:30 am

jbamberg wrote:

This should work fine.  The cards will appear as two separate 32 channel Dante devices on your network.  As you probably know, the Dante ports in the back are in pairs and each pair is connected to an internal network switch, so you can daisy chain the two cards (you don't need to run two ethernet cables back to your main switch).  How is your studio's clocking set up?  The most common configuration in a pure Dante setup would be to let Dante take care of the clocking and set the H9000 clock source to follow one of the two cards.

Great, thanks. My H9000 is already clocked to the Dante network - everything in my studio is Dante.