You are here

How do I restore 4500 manufacturer presets after stupidly deleting them?

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Rosincore
Joined: Jan 1 2020
Posts: 8

How do I restore 4500 manufacturer presets after stupidly deleting them?

Rosincore
January 11, 2020 - 07:51 am

Call me stupid, but I ran a self-test of the unit using "Test 4500 all" (one of the options you get if you start holding the 5 button and then crank the wheel) without knowing/realizing that, as Tech Note 97 belatedly tells me, it "Will erase factory presets and any card in slot."

Now when the unit attempts to initialize it reports, "Can't find any programs."

I'm pretty sure this is the problem, as I've checked and re-checked hardware (re-soldered questionable connections, etc.).

So: Does anyone know how I can restore the presets? Do you know whether they've even available anywhere for me to find? Do I need special equipment?

Worse yet, it's a friend's Harmonizer. So I feel both guilty and stupid.

Please help if you can. Thanks in advance.

nickrose's picture
Eventide Staff
nickrose
Joined: Jan 17 2008
Posts: 4598
nickrose
January 11, 2020 - 08:43 pm

Where are you ? You may have to send it in to be fixed.

 

Rosincore
Joined: Jan 1 2020
Posts: 8
Rosincore
January 12, 2020 - 09:00 am

Hey Nickrose, I'm in Connecticut. I'm boxing it up to send to Beamish in Cleveland; that's where Eventide suggested. Hope it works! Thanks for your concern.

tron23
Joined: Jun 17 2013
Posts: 1
tron23
August 04, 2020 - 09:54 pm

Is there a way the flash memory can be reprogrammed by the user? I am getting the same message on the 4500 (can't find any program to load) I am located in Europe, thanks for your support.

Rosincore
Joined: Jan 1 2020
Posts: 8
Rosincore
August 05, 2020 - 11:32 am

tron23 wrote:

Is there a way the flash memory can be reprogrammed by the user? I am getting the same message on the 4500 (can't find any program to load) I am located in Europe, thanks for your support.

So far we haven't found a way to reprogram the flash memory. Beamish Electronics was unable to do so, and Eventide no longer supports the 4500. A former Eventide employee told us that the 4500 was the first Harmonizer to use flash memory, but they never developed an applicaytion to flash the unit (which they went on to do for the Orville and other later devices). Eventide was eager to move on to the Orville; the 4500 was an "in between" unit.  Theoretically, if a person could find a working 4500 its flash memory chips could be (carefully) unsoldered and then copied to similarly unsoldered flash chips in the ailing device, although I don't know what technology would be used to re-flash the chips. Obviously a very challenging solution. If you find alternatives, please post them. Thanks!

Check out my Eventide Gear
strong1096
Joined: Jan 18 2008
Posts: 4
strong1096 (My Eventide Gear)
August 05, 2020 - 02:53 pm

tron23 wrote:

Is there a way the flash memory can be reprogrammed by the user? I am getting the same message on the 4500 (can't find any program to load) I am located in Europe, thanks for your support.

Hi tron23. Where are you based in Europe? I'm thinking about selling mine. Its features are factory standard presets + Ultrashifter upgrade. Manuals included.