You are here

Issue with H9000 in a Mac Aggregate Device.

Login to Post to Forums

You must be logged in to the Eventide website in order to post to our forums. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one. You may also reset your password.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
chriscarter
Joined: Jan 27 2011
Posts: 7

Issue with H9000 in a Mac Aggregate Device.

chriscarter
May 22, 2020 - 08:04 am

I have an annoying issue with my H9000 when it's used within an aggregate device on the Mac. I have four devices aggregated: the Mac Built-in Digital Output, two MOTU 828x interfaces (Thunderbolt) and the H9000 (USB). Using these as a single aggregate device works brilliantly - I couldn't be happier. 

However... whenever I turn on my Mac (which is always last in the chain of switching on and always after the H9000 has fully booted up) and check the Mac System Audio Devices settings the original H9000 position in the aggregate list is greyed out and another (non greyed out) H9000 is listed - but not as part of the aggregated devices list. If I go ahead and load any DAW that is using the aggregate device all my carefully labeled channels are out of sorts because the original H9000 device is now missing (greyed out) from the aggregate device. I have to go back into Audio Devices settings, deselect the greyed out H9000 and select the alternative H9000. If I then load up a DAW it sees the aggregate device as I originally compiled it.

I know it's not a serious issue but it is nevertheless really annoying as it happens EVERY time I turn on my Mac. Is this an Apple Issue or something Eventide can fix?

I'm using Emote 1.2.2 on a Mac Pro ("Late 2013" model) running macOS 10.15.4.

Before and after screen grabs below.

 

AttachmentSize
Image icon aggregate.jpg74.57 KB
John Baylies's picture
Eventide Staff
Check out my Eventide Gear
John Baylies
Joined: Jun 12 2019
Posts: 70
John Baylies (My Eventide Gear)
May 23, 2020 - 03:22 pm

I can't repo this on macOS 10.13.6 w/ the agg dev Built-In Digital Out + RME Fireface 800 + H9000.

Could be another Catalina thing...

This is now ticket # H9000-371: H9000 greyed out of aggregate device after reboot.

 

chriscarter
Joined: Jan 27 2011
Posts: 7
chriscarter
May 24, 2020 - 05:02 am

OK thanks John.

daddek
Joined: Mar 25 2016
Posts: 1
daddek
June 06, 2020 - 07:13 pm

I’ve also been putting up with this for a long while. I don’t restart my studio machine that often so I’ve gotten used to it as part of my reboot sequence, but would be great if it would retain it’s settings. I’m on the last Mojave. Aggregate of two Apollo 16’s and the H9000.

Eventide Staff
jbamberg
Joined: Aug 22 2011
Posts: 215
jbamberg
June 08, 2020 - 09:49 am

daddek wrote:

I’ve also been putting up with this for a long while. I don’t restart my studio machine that often so I’ve gotten used to it as part of my reboot sequence, but would be great if it would retain it’s settings. I’m on the last Mojave. Aggregate of two Apollo 16’s and the H9000.

Thanks for the added information - looks like we can't blame this one on Catalina.  We'll investigate.

 

enable
Joined: Oct 20 2015
Posts: 14
enable
June 11, 2020 - 11:55 am

Same Problem here with OS 10.14.6