Don't quite understand your issue. The actual saving of presets is unchanged – the main addition is the ability to rename presets just before you save them This will also rename the current setting, which will be the same as the just saved preset until it is changed. This may be what is confusing you.
One thing that may cause confusion, and will be fixed in the next release, is that you can painfully edit a name and then not save the preset, which will cause the precious name changes to be lost. We will change this so that the name edits apply to the current setting, whether or not it is saved.
There is also a bug affecting changes to the last character of a long name which will also be fixed.