Does H9 input meter do anything?

Home Forums Products Stompboxes Does H9 input meter do anything?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Boynigel
      Participant

i’ve been using my H9 for over four years now and i’m still confused about the input meter.  it seems that no matter where i set the level, that i cannot hear any difference in the sound.  even when i engage a strong clean boost in front of it and the meter goes well into the red, nothing bad happens sound-wise.  i’m not complaining but i AM wondering what the deal is with this.  can anyone enlighten me?  thanks

bohan
      Eventide Staff
      boynigel wrote:

i've been using my H9 for over four years now and i'm still confused about the input meter.  it seems that no matter where i set the level, that i cannot hear any difference in the sound.  even when i engage a strong clean boost in front of it and the meter goes well into the red, nothing bad happens sound-wise.  i'm not complaining but i AM wondering what the deal is with this.  can anyone enlighten me?  thanks

If the red LED is lit It just means the sound is too loud so it's clipped. You won't notice any difference in the sound if your signal is just a bit higher than it should be. If your input level was loud enough, I believe you would be able to hear the clipping

Boynigel
        Participant
        bohan wrote:

boynigel wrote:

i’ve been using my H9 for over four years now and i’m still confused about the input meter.  it seems that no matter where i set the level, that i cannot hear any difference in the sound.  even when i engage a strong clean boost in front of it and the meter goes well into the red, nothing bad happens sound-wise.  i’m not complaining but i AM wondering what the deal is with this.  can anyone enlighten me?  thanks