Expression Pedal Confusion…

Home Forums Products Stompboxes Expression Pedal Confusion…

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      breakyerface
      Participant

You’ll have to excuse me, am I’m quite new to the world of effects. I have an H90 currently shipping my way and am looking at expression pedals. Mission Engineering’s website says the SP-H9 is only recommended for the H9… for any of Eventides other products, the EP-25K should be used. I’ve read around this forum, and saw that the SP-H9 “works well” but the toe switch doesn’t work. More reading on this forum reveals that the EP-25K apparently needs to be opened up and have wires cut because it’s not a “true” expression pedal.

Honestly, I just want a good quality expression pedal that I can expect to function properly. I’m not married to Mission Engineering’s products, they just appear to have great build quality from my findings. Was there a particular expression pedal used by Eventide’s engineering team while building the functionality into the H90? I understand it probably wouldn’t be the best look for Eventide staff to recommend one product over the other, which is why I assume recommendations on this forum have been lackluster. It would just be excellent to have some proper recommendations for expression pedals which will allow me to enjoy both the maximum potential of the H90 and the expression pedal itself without leaving any functionality on the table from either of these items. These things aren’t cheap.

brock
      Participant

I’ve used a couple Roland EV-5s, the EHX 8 Step Program, and the O.G. Source Audio Reflex without any issues.  10-25K Ohms.

I don’t know what Eventide used while developing the H90.

breakyerface
      Participant

It’s unfortunate that the Source Audio Reflex was discontinued. It would have been my prime choice.

brock
      Participant