H8000FW really SLOW preset scrolling

Home Forums Products Rackmount H8000FW really SLOW preset scrolling

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      eventidesurf

Hello,

* I purchased a used H8000FW and it is very laggy when scrolling through presets. I can click the up/down keys 2/3 times before the cursor actually moves.

* The low-numbered presets are faster than the high-numbered presets, which are slower by at least 50%, but maybe even twice as slow.

* This only affects the factory presets, the internal (user) presets seem okay.

* Firmware is 5.61 and I did a factory reset, same problem.

Is this the nature of the beast? Should I backrev the firmware?

Notes/observations:

* Is factory preset memory physically slower than internal/user memory?

* As a computer programmer myself, I know that if you don’t index large lists they can be very slow to display because you have to iterate through the whole list just to find the next record. And depending how you programmed it, the tail-end may be slower than the beginning. Did Eventide devs not index the preset list? Or maybe it is and the index is really that slow?

* Or certain percentage of CPU allocated to display or it has its own chinsy processor?

* Just a bug?

M-Goldie
      Participant

I have this issue on my H7600 and it seems to be getting worse. Just emailed support about it today. I used to have a H7000 and it was really snappy and fast. 

eventidesurf
        M-Goldie wrote:

I have this issue on my H7600 and it seems to be getting worse. Just emailed support about it today. I used to have a H7000 and it was really snappy and fast. 

I spoke with support and they say it’s normal operation. IMO, the most likely reason is the display/ui was allocated a tiny amount of CPU resources. I was also emailed a beta version which someone else said should alleviate the problem. But I haven’t loaded it yet.