H9 Buzzing – Power/RFI/EMI?

Home Forums Products Stompboxes H9 Buzzing – Power/RFI/EMI?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      tbif1
      Participant

Ok, so I'm away for a couple of months overseas, and have taken a small guitar setup with me. It consists of:

Telecaster (Dimarzio area T noiseless pickups, but no shielding in the cavities) >

Strymon Timeline >

H9 >

Yamaha THR10 practice amp.

I haven't used this exact setup at home in Australia, so I'm not 100% sure whether this problem is specific to Indonesia (where I am now) or not.

Basically, it seems like the power here is very dirty, and I have been getting very loud buzzing when I have my fingers off the strings on the telecaster (I believe this is EMI/RFI, but I am no expert). The level of noise is unacceptably loud, much louder than what I am used to, and has basically made the whole setup unplayable. I discovered that if I play the amp off batteries, with no pedals plugged in, its fine, like a normal guitar, but anything else is too noisy.

However I noticed the other day that I adding the Timeline back into the chain doesn't change the noise level, only the H9.

So I did a test, Running just from the Tele>Timeline>Amp (running off batteries), and then Tele>H9>Amp(also running off batteries. Sure enough, the noise is way louder with the H9 than with the timeline. I have tried this where the only thing plugged in to the power is the specific pedal, but the results are the same. I am using the supplied power adaptors for both pedals

To be clear, the H9 doesn't seem to be generating a level of background noise by itself, but rather greatly increasing the level of noise coming from the telecaster when I am not touching the strings.

Here is a link to a short video I made, demonstrating what I am talking about:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7d9th5sB4RVaXN3ckhXblJlbVk/view?usp=sharing