H9 MAX and Helix Floor.Where to start?

Home Forums Products Stompboxes H9 MAX and Helix Floor.Where to start?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      BMW-KTM
      Participant

I’m kind of in the same boat as the OP but not exactly the same.
      Basically, I am a MIDI newbie.  Really green.  Like, never done anything with MIDI before.  Ever.  I don’t know how it works or where to start.
      I have an H9 Max that I have only ever used for recording and have only ever used the iPad app to control the device and did not make program changes during a session.

I put the H9 aside for a couple of years after I got Helix Floor but now I am thinking about the possibility of running the H9 in one of the loops and using the Helix to control the H9 and select different H9 algos for different Helix snapshots.  I don’t even know if that’s possible but I assume/hope it must be since Helix has MIDI ports.

Is there some kind of resource for learning how to integrate these two devices?

joecozzi
      Eventide Staff

Thank your for you question. I’m also a Line 6 Helix user, and yes, it possible to control the H9 via the Helix Floor using MIDI. You can even open and close effects loops at will with snapshots if you want.

In the MIDI world, two or more devices need to be on the same MIDI channel to communicate. Usually the default is either MIDI channel #1 or OMNI, meaning the pedal will receive commands from all channels. As long as your Helix and H9 are set to the same channel that’s what’s most important. Take a cable from the Helix’s MIDI OUT to the MIDI IN of the H9 and try going through the presets on your Helix. Does the H9 react sequentially as you change presets on Helix? From factory, I believe this should work automatically. If not, remember, make sure Helix and H9 are on the same MIDI channel.