H9 Max: help with Harmonizer parameters for ‘Black Waters’ by George Lynch

Home Forums Products Stompboxes H9 Max: help with Harmonizer parameters for ‘Black Waters’ by George Lynch

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      greg soljak

I’m trying to emulate the pitch-shift & delays used by George Lynch (Lynch Mob) in the first 1:26 of the instrumental ‘Black Waters’ from the album ‘Sun Red Sun’. YouTube link to the instrumental here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yG_paTTVzE

I’m new to harmonizers and have tried mucking around on my H9 with some of the harmoniser algorithms, but I’m not really getting close. I don’t care about getting the effects exact, something approximate would satisfy me. I think there is a delay in unison (maybe some sort of bandpass as only the higher pitches are prominent???), but there is also some pitch-shifting going on as well. Any help or ideas greatly appreciated.

UPDATE: I actually sent the artist an email about the effects (and he was kind enough to reply, which I really appreciated!), but he said, “I have no idea. I was playing through a borrowed Fractal Axe-Fx and just found & dialed in a random preset”. So, I now know he wasn’t using the gear that I have (and I don’t want to pay $2000 for an Axe-Fx just so I can have identical effects for the one instrumental I’m interested in). But if anyone out there can help me emulate the pitch-shift and delays used in ‘Black Waters’, I’d be hugely appreciative. Many thanks.

brock
      Participant

I don’t know that you’ll get ALL of those clip components in a single H9 algorithm.  It might take two, in a parallel spilt.  I hear elements that could be done in H910/H949, HarModulator, HarPeggiator, PitchFuzz …

Maybe Diatonic or Crystals, as 2nd choices.  DynaVerb for the background, choral ‘sheen”.  I’m assuming the rapid ‘triplets’ are effects-driven: triggered, not individually picked?  Are you primarily after those, or the less-busy octaves jumping in?