Mixing link – Problem?

Home Forums Products Stompboxes Mixing link – Problem?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Kostas0575

Hello, i am a musician from Greece and recently bought a MixingLink preamp from Thomann, Germany. There seems to be an issue with my device….. 

Specifically: WHEN the fx loop is engaged, IF the signal of the “MIC – LINE IN ” input (AFTER the gain stage) clips (overloads) and distorts, THEN this distortion bleeds (finds its way out)  to the 3 final outputs (“DI/LINE OUT – “TO AMP” “PHONES”).   

Is this normal? Is this the way the Mixinglink is designed? And that means i should just turn down the gain and – or – activate the pad?   

Is it designed so that the clipping BLEEDS to the mix stage if the fx loop is engaged?

OR is it a matter of a faulty resistor or something else? I am not a technician anyway….

I made a video so you can see better 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z86oCoF9A0w&feature=youtu.be

Another question: Are the mixinglink outputs phantom power protected? I refer to the “DI – LINE OUT” output and to the “to FX” output – since it’s balanced, and if you use a trs – male XLR cable.

I would gladly accept some help from Eventide technical support or from any user that can comment on this. Thanks!

JWaltz
      Participant

Hi Kostas, 

I am unable to watch your youtube vid. Not sure why? Maybe you can send me the vid via dropbox or some other way to jwaltz@eventide.com.

Depending on the MIX mode setting and MIX control, any clipped audio at the input would get passed to the outputs. One way to avoid this is

set the MIX Mode to FX Only or lower the input gain to avoid clipping.

Hope this helps.

joe waltz

eventide

Kostas0575

Hello Joe, thank you for your reply… There was a problem with the first upload, the second upload just finished. I clicked on the link and it’s ok now, so you try again… cheers!

JWaltz
      Participant

Hi Kostas,