Pitchfactor glitch issues…

Home Forums Products Stompboxes Pitchfactor glitch issues…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hi folks, can anyone help…

I recently got a Pitchfacter, which which has replaced my Whammy DT and added loads of new functions to my set up. I'm a bassist playing live electronica. I have a small 'issue' with the pitchflex setting (which I'll be using a lot) and wondered if anyone could help.

I use it with an expression pedal and I swell from unison to +2 octaves (on A – Set B to be off). Sounds lovely, but when its 2oct up I get a strange crackle/distorted sound when I touch the string. It's slight, but annoying. the tone is still there – at 1st I thought it was my speaker farting, but now I think its a kind of glitch/artefact form the sound (maybe because I have an active bass??).

If I run my OC-2 on -1oct in front of it (so I have a -1oct signal) then swell the same setting to +2 oct the 'fart' is slightly more audible. I'm running to the assumption that this is because the OC-2 has slight glitching as well and the combination of the 2 makes it worse.

It does sound a little bit like the pedal is being fed with too much gain though… but reducing the signal going in seems to make no difference and the pedal peak light it not coming on… It's a shame as this mode is superior in every way to my whammy IV & Whammy DT, except they don't glitch like this as the +2 oct point.

A friend has suggested it sounds as though the noise of my strings being grounded by the touch of the string is being amplified?

Cheers

Shep

ameyrairikar

HI

Sounds like you might be hearing the pitch shifted  (+2 octave) audio of your finger/pick hitting the string. If your impact on the string is loud then it might sound like its distorted .

Hi,