Timefactor and MIDI signals

Home Forums Products Stompboxes Timefactor and MIDI signals

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      MaxFX

I'm a MIDI newb so bear with me. 
      I've recently begun the lonely walk down the MIDI path and I'm not finding much support all around.  It's been a lot like learning Linux only worse.

So, I have this MIDI foot controller and I'm still learning how to adjust the settings.  One thing I don't understand is: how does the pedal know the Timefactor is there? 

The pedal changes patches on the timefactor out of the box, which is pretty cool but that seems to be all it does.  I know that the timefactor receives in OMNI and that it sends on ch 1.  The foot controller is set to send on ch 1.  My amp head is receiving in OMNI too but so far I have yet to learn how to get the controller to recognize my amp head is there at all.  I have tried using direct connect and MIDI through, via midi cable on the Timefactor to no avail. I also have yet to figure out how to adjust timefactor parameters with the controller. 

So, my question is… Is there supposed to be some kind of automatic sensing as long as the signals are sending/receiving on the same channels or what?  Is the controller supposed to send messages to the other components to change parameters? If so, how?  My controller documentation does not clearly explain this… What am I missing?  I need some serious intervention here because I'm about to lose it on this thing. 

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

MIDI is much simpler than Linux – you may be over complicating things in your mind.

MaxFX:

One thing I don't understand is: how does the pedal know the Timefactor is there? 

It probably doesn't (no need – it's job is to transmit). The TF will know that the pedal is there when it receives something.

MaxFX:

The pedal changes patches on the timefactor out of the box, which is pretty cool but that seems to be all it does