TimeFactor volume dropping.

Home Forums Products Stompboxes TimeFactor volume dropping.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      peregrine44
      I am currently a Weekly Performing Musician. About to become a full time Touring musician if things pan out after our record is done in the next couple of weeks. 

I have a issue with my Timefactor. I use my TF about 70% of our set and it sounds amazing and does what I need it to do. But one issue I have is that ever since I had the device it has had a problem with the volume being too low. The effect is ran through my Voodoo Labs GCX switcher in the Effects loop of my Amp all housed in a Rack unit. With a midi cable plugged in to change presets on the fly. With a Orange Rockerverb 50 MK1.

I had updated the firmware on the device thinking it would fix it. But the update now allows me to up the decibels on the presets. Which was okay at the time because of the way I had things wired in my Rack. Which was, the TF unit was powered by the Eventide Power Supply. had the switches set to LINE and LINE and the DB on the preset were at +5. Which I thought was crazy just to get it back up to the same leval as without the pedal.

Did all the troubleshooting I could think of. Tested: just straight in the effects loop (no GCX), In front of the amp, Different loops withing the GCX, Different cables, and different amps (Marshall JCM 2000 DSL). All yielded the same results. So I just left it and played the shows.

Well this is the crazy part. I have rewired my rig. Bought a bigger case added new effects, another Voodoo Labs pedal power plus and a wireless unit. Now the unit is powered by the VL PS instead of the ET wall wart. 

After I powered up the whole rack unit for the first time, my TF was BLAZING loud. (because it was set to LINE and LINE and +5 of boost).