- This topic is empty.
December 28, 2020 at 8:45 pm #116268zazulaParticipant
I’ve lost a couple presets because of this workflow:
1. download an algorithm
2. modify it
3. save it to disk as “Algo A”
4. download another one, “Algo B”
5. quit VSig
6. At this point, the new algo is loaded into the window that is associated with the different algo I saved in step #3. VSig asks “do you want to save changes to Algo A?” Not paying attention, and because I like what I did in Algo A, I click “Yes”.
7. Algo A file on disk is now has “Algo B”. “Algo A” is lost 🙁
Here is a similar scenario:Show More...Show Less...
1. launch VSig
2. new File – new “Untitled” window created (GOOD)
3. download Algo A – “Untitled” window marked “diry” (GOOD)
3. download Algo B – “do you want to save Untitled?” (GOOD)
4. say Yes and give it a filename “algo1” – two things happen now:
a. the window is momentarily a “clean” view of “algo1”
b. then “Algo B” is loaded into it, dirtying “algo1” window
5. quit VSig
6. “do you want to save ‘algo1’?”
I think a better workflow would be to create a new, clean document with the title of the downloaded algorithm any time you download an algorithm.
If you want to overwrite your previous work, you can simply save this new document to the existing location. However, you will not inadvertently do so because the window / document retained its previous file association.
This will be equivalent behavior since the entire algorithm is replaced whenever you load one.
December 28, 2020 at 9:21 pm #156709John BayliesParticipant
Sorry you lost a few presets… Thanks for the detailed suggestion. I've created a ticket for it.
December 28, 2020 at 11:10 pm #156713zazulaParticipantJohn Baylies wrote:
Sorry you lost a few presets… Thanks for the detailed suggestion. I’ve created a ticket for it.
Thanks! Only lost one, I’ve learned my lesson now!
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.