H8000FW Ableton routing

Home Forums Products Rackmount H8000FW Ableton routing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      MicrokevH8000
      Participant

I'm an Eventide newbie, and I'm hoping for some help on getting my H8000FW up and running. I've scoured the manual and still feel a little lost, so bear with me if I missed something along the way. 

I'm running Mac OS 10.5.8 on a 2.3 gHz G5 (ppc). Eventide Dice is running on my system, FW is linked and working. After reading the FireWire Interface Manual, I created an Aggregate Device with my MOTU 828 and my H8000FW. My 828 is the clock source, and the H800's setup window shows "Source: WORDCLK" and "FIREWIRE1 OK"

I set the H8000's routing to preset 21 – FireWire 8 Track AB and selected the Aggregate Device as my I/O in Ableton. Analog 1 + 2 Out go to my Allen & Heath mixer, which sends back to Analog 1 + 2 In…

My question is how to route audio to and through the H8000. Ableton doesn't seem to find which channels go to the Eventide, and instead sends Outputs 1-8 to the MOTU 828.

Thanks in advance for the patience. 

DiacK

a quick solution would be to use not the firewire connection, but to connect the 828 and the h8000 via ADAT in and out.

to connect two devices, the H8000fw and the Motu828 at the same timeto the mac,  i thought it is not possible, but i might be very wrong with this assumption.

MicrokevH8000
      Participant

If I used the ADAT connections, I'd bypass the H8000's AD/DA converters, right? They were a big reason I bought the unit.

And I still can't get any audio to run to the unit, using the analog connections or the Firewire.

I tried to send the 440 hz oscillator, and audio came out, but so far nothing has gone in…

Sad

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

I suspect that this question has to be directed to Ableton or Mr.Mac, not to Eventide.