H8000FW connections

Home Forums Products Rackmount H8000FW connections

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      loki

Hi, I want to buy an H8000 and I really wanted to connect and use with firewire to stream audio, but Cubase apparently will not allow this.
      Which means upgrading my soundcard for one with more ins and outs.

So, I need help choosing a new soundcard.

I use a few bits of hardware, so I need 8 analog ins and outs at least, and I guess I will have to connect the H8000 digitally.
      I have looked at the RME Fireface as a contender, but I'm not sure about its digital i/o options.

I don't know what to look for really, I have no experience with digital connections, and the little I have read on the web has confused me………..

Please can anyone suggest a setup that they are using, or even just one that they think will work well, also what type of cables and where to buy.

Thanks,

Lee

Mike

You may not need anything but an H8000FW. I am not at all sure about how the drivers work, but the H8000FW should eliminate the need for a sound card (Nick please help!). Anyway based upon this premise I've been bugging a couple high placed people at Eventide to look at developing a couple options for using the H8000 as channel strips.

I'm using a H8000 (not FW and, yes, I have an Orville too) with an RME Digiface with an RME optical to AES/EBU converter. That was about state of the art 4 or 5 years ago when I bought the gear and was last active in recording. Basically I use Nuendo (2) because at that time ProTools had a seriously handicapped sound due to a cheap clock. Also Nuendo's user interface is much easier to work with than ProTools. The main advantage to RME's stuff was low latency and this all could still be the case.