Latency comparison: 8000 versus eclipse

Home Forums Products Rackmount Latency comparison: 8000 versus eclipse

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      thehorse

Can anybody provide exact figures on how the h8000 compares to the eclipse in terms of latency.  I am primarily interested in the difference in a purely digital setup (ie. spdif, adat).  It seems a lot of folks use the eclipse in a live rig, which suggests the ADA total time must be reasonable.

I am contemplating move to good digital effects, which my RME UC handles very well, but I have many years of zero latency analogue experience.

I know the 2016 in and out is less than 2ms, for example.  I also know that the factor stomps are pretty fast.

thanks.

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

We don't publish exact figures for this, but as a rough guess, with analog I/O the latency is defined by the A/D/A converters, and is probably in the region of a few mS. With digital I/O the latency is determined by internal buffering and (depending on the effect) is probably between 4 and 20 samples, or from about 80uS to 400uS at 48k sampling.

thehorse

Thanks!  Indeed, I use my RME UC for all my ADA and it has both spdif and adat, so I am most interested in how many samples to get in, modify, and get out at 48k.  From the sounds of it, there is very little measurable latency in terms of digital I/O and algorithm processing (assuming that complicated pitch shifting likely requires several ms).

One follow up: if you were to run a stereo signal into the H8000 and eclipse (no ada, just digital I/o) and use both of their respective DSPs in series using the same effects (eg. dsp A: modfactor alg; dsp B: timefactor alg), would there be any difference in total digital latency (I/O and processing) between the eclipse and H8000?

cheers.

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

thehorse: