New Orville owner, have a few questions!

Home Forums Products Rackmount New Orville owner, have a few questions!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      zr1fevr

Just purchased an Orville, I am new to rack gear. For now, I will be running it through the effects loop of my EVH 5150 III head. I bought a male & female XLR-TRS cable to connect to analog 1 input & output. I get a signal going through, but on some presets it’s very noisy, distorted, others it’s fine. Do I need to adjust the line levels with this setup? Also, I have noticed numerous presets load, but there is no preset working, silence. I see some have to be on the correct DSP, but these are on the correct DSP & nothing happens. Oh, I get nothing showing on the meters on the left no matter what preset I am using. Been reading the manual, but I am confused by the whole balanced, unbalanced aspect of connecting this unit. Plan to get a mixer, but for now this is how I have to use it. Thanks for any help!

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

Sounds like you may need a tech-y friend ..

If you get noise or distortion, check the meters. Also, try adjusting Orville's output level – you may be overloading whatever you are feeding.

If, as appears, you are only connecting one channel, you'll only get activity on one of the meters.

zr1fevr
        nickrose wrote:

Sounds like you may need a tech-y friend ..

Definitely!

If you get noise or distortion, check the meters. Also, try adjusting Orville’s output level – you may be overloading whatever you are feeding.

Ok, will check this out tonight.

If, as appears, you are only connecting one channel, you’ll only get activity on one of the meters.

Yes, only 1 channel currently. Even still, I am getting no display on any meter. Maybe the output is too low to register?

Thanks Nick

Kevin

nickrose
        Eventide Staff
        zr1fevr wrote: