Only 1 LFO per program on the Eclipse?

Home Forums Products Rackmount Only 1 LFO per program on the Eclipse?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      holografique
      Participant

I'm having a hard time finding concrete specs on the various Harmonizer models that exist specifically listing not just the types of modulation sources, but more importantly the number of modulation sources supported per program.

So far, from what I can tell, the Eclipse can only do one LFO per program. I don't know, but to me this is pretty limiting for the price being asked on this unit. The unit sounds great, but lack of additional modulation is a bit of a bummer. Pretty high-end synths costing less can do 3-4 LFO's. Doesn't make sense to me.But I'm no DSP programmer 😐

My assumption is the 4000 and higher units can do more than just 1 LFO. But I can't find any info in any of the manuals that gives out a concrete list of the modulation limits per program. Is this info somewhere to be found?

thanks.

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

The way these products work makes it hard to give a precise answer to your question. Because each algorithm is made from a large number of different modules, it is possible for a given algorithm to have 10 modulators. Or none. Comparing them to a fixed structure analog synth is not helpful or relevant.

The Eclipse has a standalone modulation block to which you refer. But, also, individual algorithms may have built-in modulation sources. You will have to study the Algorithms Manual to identify these.

The 2U units have from 400 to almost 2000 programs or algorithms, many of which will have extensive modulation capability. There is no Algorithms Manual for these – it would be too big. You can also create your own algorithms – if you wanted 50 modulators, you probably could. It would depend on what you are trying to achieve.