It is normal. This is clearly stated in the release notes. In addition, the upgrade page says "In particular you must back up all user presets first." Sorry.
There is one possible option – if you have not used it very much, try downgrading to V3.5, and some of your old presets may be accessible (not guaranteed). If you are this lucky, back them up very quickly.