Routing Nightmare help

Home Forums Products Rackmount Routing Nightmare help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      lionelred
      Participant

Hi

I just got a Apogee Ensemble and am using its firewire to interface with my mac.

I have hooked up H8000FW over ADAT.

using the I/O utility in Logic setting up a bus I can see that the audio is getting to the H8000FW from the ensemble 

I have plugged in my speakers to the H8000FW and hear the effected signal from the ensemble.

I can see the digital level on the ensemble flashing too, however I cannot get any sound of the effected signal from the eventide on the ensemble

I don't know what I am doing wrong

I am new to ADAT and sound cards so bear with me.

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

For obvious reasons, we can't help you with your Apogee.

I would suggest that you make sure that you can get sound to and from the H8000 and your computer, without using any other equipment (see the User Manual for instructions). If you can't, we can try and help.

Once this is done, if you have trouble with other equipment, you should probably talk to their manufacturers.

lionelred
      Participant

Of course I understand 

I just selected the metering input on the apogee and there was no level coming in from the eventide

I have selected routing preset 24 ADAT a/b

also the clock says ADAT  'Slipping' will that effect the output signal

lionelred
      Participant

Sorted it.

whats the highest sample rate I can use the H8000FW over ADAT?

nickrose
      Eventide Staff

Normal ADAT is limited to 48kHz (the restriction is the bandwidth of the optical system).

H8000FW also supports S-MUX, which will give you 4 channels at 88/96K. But, not many other things support this, and it has not been heavily tested.