single sample feedback in VSig

Home Forums Products Vsig and Preset Development single sample feedback in VSig

Tagged: 

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      sadguitarius
      Participant

In this thread (https://www.eventideaudio.com/forums/topic/vsig-custom-modules/) it is mentioned that single-sample feedback loops are possible in VSig. While I am new to VSig (although I do have Max/MSP/gen experience which translates well), I can’t figure out how to actually make this work. It seems that any time I mix in feedback from an output signal, I get a few extra samples of delay in the feedback loop. I was hoping to be able to design my own filters for the H9000 using low-level DSP. Is this simply not possible at the moment?

I attached what as far as I can tell a correctly-implemented patch which is pretty much the simplest possible recursive low pass filter. I can plainly hear some high-frequency comb filtering going on, especially at low cutoff settings, which shouldn’t be happening. Can anyone offer some insight? Am I just going about this totally wrong?

sadguitarius
      Participant

and the attachment didn’t show up, so here it is.

John Baylies
      Participant

Seems the attachment hasn’t attached. Could you upload the file to google drive?

Also, have you checked out https://cdn.eventideaudio.com/manuals/h9000/2.0/content/development/gen~.html ?

sadguitarius
      Participant

Ah weird! Ok here you go: link

I put in a switch to add or remove a single-sample delay in the feedback, as I wasn’t sure if the expected behavior should be to add an implicit delay for feedback loops or not. It does change the sound, but it seems like there’s already more than a sample of delay automatically inserted anyhow.

I have checked out the gen~ code export and it is awesome. The reason for wanting to do this in VSig is to have access to Eventide algorithms at the same time and also to have better control over how parameters are displayed.